#sol17 Uneasy Silences

I’ve been thinking a lot about my professional networks. These include who I know in real life, who I admire and follow on social media, and who I generally look to for advice and insight. I tend to turn to these folks when I want to know more about an issue, or to seek solidarity, but generally, these professional networks can be enduring spaces of possibility.

What I’ve been most struck by in the last several months is how these networks either support or undermine the literacy activism so many of us do.

Most notable about all of this are the silences. What I’ve expected, hoped for, needed to hear from these folks is that they see people of color and they are willing to pursue issues of equity beyond a sign on their doors, or a liked Facebook post. Beyond Ally Theatre, as it were. 

Instead, the responses have been…crickets.

What this looks like includes:

  • Mentions of some -ism that fails to acknowledge intersectionality. That might be someone calling out Anti-Semitism but not articulating how racism and Islamophobia have impacted and continue to impact so many in systematic, debilitating ways.
  • Adoring a celebrity like Beyonce for her fashion or her beauty, or even disparaging her amazing birth announcement while failing to center that importance in how Black women have been denigrated since, well, forever.
  • Suggesting a mentor text for a lesson that has clear markers of race and beg for critical analysis, but only using that text to think about structure, or plot, or something that is peripheral to what the core text really should be about. 

I’m always struck by thinking: don’t these folks work with young people of color? Might they have colleagues of color? Why are they choosing not to acknowledge the lived experience of so many folks of color in this country?

My colleague wrote quite brilliantly about Ally Theater and that post bears summarizing here: when folks are showing up because it makes them feel good but does nothing to actually work for progress for marginalized folks, well, then, that’s not really helping.

It’s hindering.

And what has been sitting so uneasily with me is how many of the people I would like to consider leaders in the field of literacy research–and here I’m talking about white folks, by and large–are amazingly, incredibly silent.

Instead, I can count on one hand the folks who are attempting to do the work: Donalyn Miller intentionally posts books that are mirrors, windows, and sliding glass doors for a wide range of readers. She even gives books away daily, thereby expanding access to texts that some folks have never heard of and getting the books into the hands of readers.

The teachers of Three Teachers Talk ground their work in excellent practice while incorporating multicultural texts and embedding critical literacy. This work is not an add-on. It’s what they do, and the work offers concrete potential for what others can do if they simply tried. (Plus, there are actual pictures of kids of color in their classrooms!).

There are others, certainly, but they are not the majority.

What am I hoping for? I’m hoping for educators that show up and do the work that #educolor has been doing. Asking hard questions, pursuing tough truths, being the teachers all kids need whatever their experiences. Being relentless about equity, social justice, excellent practice. Being real allies rather than performers in ally theater, while also realizing that often folks turn to our literary luminaries for guidance.

Seems like now’s the time for them to offer that guidance.

Now, more than ever.

12 thoughts on “#sol17 Uneasy Silences

  1. Yes yes yes to all of this. May I also add: seek out #OwnVoices sources. I see too many educators want to “diversify” their offerings, only to peddle more problematic content from the white savior point of view.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this. Need to keep thinking about how I embed this in my daily work. With kids and grown ups. For me it often starts with giving up assumptions. I assume teachers read books with a wide range of characters in their elementary read alouds. But I need to stop assuming. And instead check. And suggest. And expect more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing. I worry about educators that don’t even understand/acknowledge the concept of privilege or how it may affect their relationships with students. There is no excuse for not including multicultural literature in instruction in this day and age.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, yes, and yes. I tend to try to give others the benefit of the doubt, but your words remind me that the time for the “benefit of the doubt” has long passed. Now it can only be a willful ignorance. I need to be mindful of this in my own work as an educator of color: in what ways do I perpetuate existing structures of power and privilege, and what can I do every day to challenge those structures? I’m so glad I know you—you who make me a better teacher.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. There’s a book hidden in this post, Kim. (That third to last paragraph is pretty much a table of contents, I think). With so much of the education force being white, we need to learn how to get past defensiveness and have these conversations. And I echo Tricia–“I’m so glad to know you–you who make me a better teacher.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

