Slice of Life 3: Dear Daughter I Never Had

As a mom of three boys, I’m often asked if I ever wanted to have a girl. I’m never sure what to answer. If I say yes, it feels like I’m somehow not happy with the kids I have. If I say no, I’d be lying a little. Part of me has always wondered what it would be like to have a girl.

Other times, when I tell people I have three boys, I get the vague sense that they pity me a bit. As if my life isn’t quite complete if I don’t have a daughter, a little girl whose pigtails I can braid. Perhaps to make me feel better, other people have said things like, “Well, at least you don’t have three girls—girls are trouble!” and “Well, they say there’s a special place in heaven for moms of boys!” (Really?) Our next-door neighbors also have three boys, though theirs have graduated and grown, their parents now empty-nesters. Linda, the mom, once told me that the good thing about boys is that they always love their mamas. I always wonder, do girls not love their mamas, too? Read more.

Leave a Reply

